2024 – Stars – Attraction

What makes something or someone a star attraction?  I have been thinking about this after listening to Billie-Jean King being interviewed by Julia Louis Dreyfus – which is an interview I highly recommend.  Billie-Jean has lots of insights from her career in tennis, philanthropy, advocate and as a feminist icon.  She says in the interview leaders don’t choose followers, followers choose leaders. People are attracted to stars like her. They want to be in the orbit of such a star, and there is a gravitational pull that draws them in. There is responsibility in leadership to use that heaviness, perhaps it is the gravity or gravity itself that leaders need to hold steady so as not to cause a riot … unless of course that is their intention! 

Producers, directors, marketing, promotional peeps all derive their meaning from the stars they can hurl into the universe and then it is their job to keep them there. And the stars job to keep putting out their magnetism and the “look at me” factor.  I am watching this in popular culture unfold with the release of a new album, new book, new movie, new series. Those who have stood the test of time are very comfortable in their own skin, enjoying the limelight, and playfully exploit the moments offered up to enhance their backers. Sometimes newbies over stretch their new star status and slip up a bit before they find the orbit or lane they need to stick too.

It’s true in politics as well where star power attracts more followers and there is responsibility attached to that part of leadership and used unwisely, own goals inevitably come next. These baby stars demonstrate their immaturity and crash and burn dazzling disintegration in the skies can be a sight to behold. Gravitational collapse is the phenomena of contraction which draws matter towards its centre, and in leadership those who are more about me, me, me and lack generosity, find their lack of humility leads to implosion. It is a good reminder of the shadow side of star attraction.

The dual capacity of gravity to attract and collapse under your own weight is an invitation to humility and reflection. To consider how your actions as a leader expand and include others.

I was listening to Jack Carty sing a song about his love for his child last night at Loren Kate‘s Cooee Fest (surely an expression of an expanding universe!) I’ve heard him sing it before, and I think once again love is at the centre of all star attraction. I’ve popped the lyrics below. He explains that he now knows how the universe expands.  If we act out of love there is expansion. Love of ourselves, of others, the place where we live, the planet and universe itself.

Love has an intimacy all of its own, to deepen an understanding, by getting to know what’s under the surface, some of the invisible features, to look closely at the finer points. When I hear Sir David Attenborough describe a creature, his passion and knowledge transmits love. When I see a First Nations person greet the land with familial attachment I recognise love. When I see a mother notice a shift in breathing in her sick infant, her love instantly calls her to action.  Billie-Jean in her interview showed so much respect to her followers as a tennis giant, she turned into being a performer and wanting to give people a great show in return. I was struck by this same phenomena when I went to a Bruce Springsteen concert years ago. He felt everyone in the stadium had worked hard all year to save up to see him and the E Street band and so they had an obligation to be their best, to give value for money, to be worthy of the applause, to be grateful to throng of fans for enabling him and his band to do what they love to do. 

That is not just why the universe expands, I think it is how it expands. With love, respect and desire for intimacy in the gravitational dance that comes with star attraction.  May we all experience and know we are stars in someone’s galaxy.

I think I found the reason why the universe expands

I was standing in the kitchen when it fell into my lap

I outdid all those physicists with their particles and maths

And I think I found the reason why the universe expands

See the galaxies are spreading out

We know that much is true

‘Cause their light it shifts from blue to red

‘Cause it is spreading too

But no one knew just why they move

As quickly as they do

Though the galaxies are spreading out

And we know that much is true

Your mum and I have waited

For you to join us here

We’re gonna care for you and do the best we can

And I think I found the reason why the universe expands

I’ve loved you since I found out

You were there inside that womb

And you’ve been busy growing

And my love’s been growing too

It covers every particle on every distant land

And in order to contain it all the universe expands

Your mum and I have waited

For you to join us here

I’m gonna love you and I’ll do the best I can

And I figured out the reason why the universe expands

Yeah I think I found the reason why the universe expands

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: John Patrick Carty

Why The Universe Expands lyrics © Embassy Music Publishing Pty Ltd

Grateful to the expanding universe of love at the Willunga Farmers Market being gifted these beautiful flowers by Jake from Sunny Bunch Co

Love to read your response to this post